ACTION ALERT The Politicians Who Voted Against Hurricane Relief

September 9th, 2017 - by admin

Brad Johnson / Climate Hawks – 2017-09-09 20:28:22

ACTION ALERT The Politicians Who Voted Against Hurricane Relief
Brad Johnson / Climate Hawks

(September 9, 2017) – We Are Climate Hawks. Our goal remains steadfast: to elect climate hawk leaders – those who prioritize and speak on the climate crisis. We don’t support those who avoid issues such as Keystone XL, Arctic drilling, and coal exports. Climate change is the greatest challenge facing ours and future generations, not just another Democratic issue, but too many politicians are afraid to talk about it.

Waffling on carbon pollution and voting for fossil fuels should be as unacceptable as voting against a woman’s right to choose. We don’t tolerate elected officials and candidates taking money from tobacco companies who profit from human suffering and death; we shouldn’t tolerate them taking money from coal, oil, and gas companies whose business plan is to cook the planet.

Now, in the wake of tens of billions of dollars of damage from Hurricane Harvey, 107 members of Congress in the Senate and House — including 4 from Texas — voted “NO” on an aid package to help survivors in the Gulf and to keep FEMA funded. [This comes at the same time Florida and the southern US face a new disaster from the superstorm Hurricane Irma. — EAW.]

Their excuse? They wanted the cost of this disaster relief to threaten a government shutdown. That’s right, these 107 #HarveyHeartless Republicans are so committed to cutting taxes for billionaire polluters and making the rest of America suffer that they’ll vote against disaster aid.

Fortunately, they are outnumbered by the members who voted FOR this essential relief.

Call your senators and members of Congress today to tell them how you feel about their vote for aid for Hurricane Harvey victims.

1. See the bottom of this message to find out if your members are among the 107 #HarveyHeartless who voted against Harvey aid.

2. Call your members of Congress: For those who voted NO: “My name is Gar and I am from TOWN, ZIP. As a constituent, I am calling to condemn Sen./Rep. _______ for their vote against essential Harvey relief for millions of our fellow Americans. If they’re concerned about how to pay for climate disasters, they should raise taxes on the fossil-fuel billionaires who profit from polluting our climate. I will remember this vote on Election Day.”

For those who voted AYE: “My name is _____ and I am from TOWN, ZIP. As a constituent, I am calling to thank Sen./Rep. _______ for their vote for essential Harvey relief for millions of our fellow Americans. I will remember this vote on Election Day.”

Elected officials need to know their constituents are holding them accountable for climate justice.

Our climate movement is not just about saving the future. It’s about taking care of our communities who are already experiencing the devastation of a changed climate right now.

Thanks for making the call today.

The #HarveyHeartless: The 17 GOP Senators
Who Voted Against Hurricane Harvey Disaster Relief:

Jeff Flake & John McCain of Arizona
James Risch of Idaho
Joni Ernst & Chuck Grassley of Iowa
Jerry Moran of Kansas
Rand Paul of Kentucky
Deb Fischer & Ben Sasse of Nebraska
James Lankford of Oklahoma
Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania
Lindsay Graham of South Carolina
Bob Corker of Tennessee
Mike Lee of Utah
Ron Johnson of Wisconsin
Michael Enzi of Wyoming

The #HarveyHeartless: The 90 GOP Representatives
Who Voted Against Hurricane Harvey Disaster Relief

Bradley Byrne (AL-01)
Martha Roby (AL-02)
Mo Brooks (AL-05)
Gary Palmer (AL-06)
French Hill (AR-02)
Bruce Westerman (AR-04)
Paul Gosar (AZ-04)
Andy Biggs (AZ-05)
David Schweikert (AZ-06)
Trent Franks (AZ-08)
Tom McClintock (CA-04)
Duncan Hunter (CA-50)
Scott Tipton (CO-03)
Ken Buck (CO-04)
Doug Lamborn (CO-05)
Matt Gaetz (FL-01)
Ted Yoho (FL-03)
Doug Collins (GA-09)
Jody Hice (GA-10)
Barry Loudermilk (GA-11)
Peter Roskam (IL-06)
Randy Hultgren (IL-14)
Darin LaHood (IL-18)
Jackie Walorski (IN-02)
Jim Banks (IN-03)
Todd Rokita (IN-04)
Luke Messer (IN-06)
Trey Hollingsworth (IN-09)
Lynn Jenkins (KS-02)
Kevin Yoder (KS-03)
Ron Estes (KS-04)
James Comer (KY-01)
Thomas Massie (KY-04)
Garland “Andy” Barr (KY-06)
Andy Harris (MD-01)
Bill Huizenga (MI-02)
Justin Amash (MI-03)
Tom Emmer (MN-06)
Ann Wagner (MO-02)
Blaine Luetkemeyer (MO-03)
Vicky Hartzler (MO-04)
Sam Graves (MO-06)
Billy Long (MO-07)
Jason Smith (MO-08)
Trent Kelly (MS-01)
George Holding (NC-02)
Virginia Foxx (NC-05)
Mark Walker (NC-06)
David Rouzer (NC-07)
Richard Hudson (NC-08)
Mark Meadows (NC-11)
Ted Budd (NC-13)
Don Bacon (NE-02)
Adrian Smith (NE-03)
Stevan “Steve” Pearce (NM-02)
Lee Zeldin (NY-01)
Brad Wenstrup (OH-02)
Jim Jordan (OH-04)
Warren Davidson (OH-08)
Michael Turner (OH-10)
James Renacci (OH-16)
Markwayne Mullin (OK-02)
Steve Russell (OK-05)
Scott Perry (PA-04)
Keith Rothfus (PA-12)
Marshall “Mark” Sanford (SC-01)
Jeff Duncan (SC-03)
Ralph Norman Jr. (SC-05)
Kristi Noem (SD-AL)
John “Jimmy” Duncan Jr. (TN-02)
Scott DesJarlais (TN-04)
Diane Black (TN-06)
Marsha Blackburn (TN-07)
David Kustoff (TN-08)
Sam Johnson (TX-03)
Jeb Hensarling (TX-05)
Joe Barton (TX-06)
Mac Thornberry (TX-13)
Chris Stewart (UT-02)
Robert Wittman (VA-01)
Bob Goodlatte (VA-06)
David “Dave” Brat (VA-07)
Morgan Griffith (VA-09)
Jaime Herrera Beutler (WA-03)
James Sensenbrenner Jr. (WI-05)
Sean Duffy (WI-07)
Mike Gallagher (WI-08)
Alex Mooney (WV-02)
Evan Jenkins (WV-03)
Liz Cheney (WY-AL)