“Costs of War” Wins 2022 US Peace Prize

October 13th, 2022 - by US Peace Prize

Stephanie Savell, Catherine Lutz and Neta Crawford.

“Costs of War” Wins 2022 US Peace Prize

US Peace Prize

(October 12, 2022) — The US Peace Memorial Foundation awards the US Peace Prize to recognize and honor the most outstanding American antiwar leaders. These courageous individuals and organizations have publicly opposed military interventions such as invasion, occupation, production of weapons of mass destruction, use of weapons, threats of war, or other actions that threaten peace.

By honoring these and other courageous role models, we hope to inspire more Americans to speak out for peace and to work to end the hatred, ignorance, greed, and intolerance that lead to war.

Recipients have been designated as Founding Members of the US Peace Memorial Foundation. Read details about the inspiring antiwar/peace activities of the recipients and all nominees in the US Peace Registry.

 Michael D. Knox,  Dr. Lutz, and Dr. Crawford.

Costs of War Awarded 2022 US Peace Prize
The Board of Directors of the US Peace Memorial Foundation has voted unanimously to award the 2022 US Peace Prize to Costs of War “For Crucial Research to Shed Light on The Human, Environmental, Economic, Social, and Political Costs of US Wars.”

On September 30, 2022, Michael D. Knox, US Peace Memorial Foundation Chair, presented the US Peace Prize to Costs of War at a workshop held at Watson Institute, Brown University, Providence, Rhode Island. He thanked them for their important work that could help end US wars.

Knox said, “The research and scholarly publications generated by Costs of War’s faculty and staff provide accurate data that can truly impact our public and foreign policy. Your outreach to the media, lawmakers, and educators helps to build momentum towards reversing long-standing patterns of US militarism.”

The program’s Co-Directors, Drs. Neta C. Crawford, Catherine Lutz, and Stephanie Savell issued this joint statement in response to receiving the award:
“On behalf of our global network of over 50 scholars and experts, we’re thrilled to receive the US Peace Prize for the Costs of War and deeply honored to be included amongst the other exemplary awardees.
“This prize is a testament to the tireless hard work and creative vision of so many people, from the scholars who share their findings with the public to the many people who build Costs of War’s impact from behind the scenes; all of us share a passion for working against militarism.”

Costs of War is a research collaboration housed at Brown University’s Watson Institute for International and Public Affairs. It brings together the work of scholars and experts from various disciplines and backgrounds based at different universities and other organizations.

Through ongoing research and analysis of the impacts of the United States’ post-9/11 wars in Afghanistan, Iraq, Pakistan, Somalia, Syria, Yemen, and elsewhere, the group seeks to educate the American public and its leaders about the often unacknowledged human, economic, political, social, and environmental costs of war, both in the US and internationally.

Since Costs of War was founded in 2011, its contributors have regularly published papers and data documenting the death tolls of wars, the number of displaced people, the US budgetary costs, and the geographic expanse of US counterterrorism operations. Having been recently cited in a presidential speech, Costs of War’s research findings prompt Americans to ask relevant and well-informed questions about US wars.

The other 2022 US Peace Prize nominees were the National Network Opposing the Militarization of Youth, Randolph Bourne Institute, and RootsAction.org. Read about the antiwar/peace activities of all recipients and nominees in our publication, the US Peace Registry.

Past Peace Prize Winners
US Peace Prize recipients todate are Costs of War, World BEYOND War, Christine Ahn, Ajamu Baraka, David Swanson, Ann Wright, Veterans For Peace, Kathy Kelly, CODEPINK Women for Peace, Chelsea Manning, Medea Benjamin, Noam Chomsky, Dennis Kucinich, and Cindy Sheehan.

US Peace Prize recipients and nominees are documented below.
(See the nomination process and procedure at www.USPeaceMemorial.org/Nominations.htm