Veterans For Peace Keynote Convention: August 25-27

August 28th, 2023 - by Clare Daly and Jeffrey Sachs / Veterans For Peace

Veterans For Peace Convention August 25-27
Clare Daly and Jeffrey Sachs / Veterans For Peace

Dedicated to the Memory of Daniel Ellsberg

(August 25-27, 2023) — Workshop recordings will be available within 48 hours of airing, all recordings will be available within a week of the end of Convention and will be available to access for 60 days.

We will be honoring all the VFP members we have lost since the last VFP Convention during our Saturday night event by reading out their names alongside a bell-ringing.


5:00 PM:  Greeting: Strong Buffalo
5:30 PM:  Clare Daly (MEP)
6:00 PM:  Jeffrey Sachs, B.A., M.A., Ph.D.
6:30 PM:  Fundraising/Legacy
7:00 PM:  Presente: Barry Riesch
7:30 PM:  Awards: Josh Shurley

Clare Daly (MEP) is an Irish politician who has been a Member of the European Parliament (MEP) from Ireland for the Dublin constituency since July 2019. She is a member of Independents 4 Change, part of The Left in the European Parliament – GUE/NGL.

Jeffrey Sachs, B.A., M.A., Ph.D., is University Professor and Director of the Center for Sustainable Development at Columbia University, where he directed the Earth Institute from 2002 until 2016. He is President of the UN Sustainable Development Solutions Network, Co-Chair of the Council of Engineers for the Energy Transition, Commissioner of the UN Broadband Commission for Development, academician of the Pontifical Academy of Social Sciences at the Vatican, and Tan Sri Jeffrey Cheah Honorary Distinguished Professor at Sunway University. He has been Special Advisor to three United Nations Secretaries-General, and currently serves as an SDG Advocate under Secretary General António Guterres. He spent over twenty years as a professor at Harvard University, where he received his B.A., M.A., and Ph.D. degrees. Sachs has received 42 honorary doctorates, and his recent awards include the 2022 Tang Prize in Sustainable Development, the Legion of Honor by decree of the President of the Republic of France, and the Order of the Cross from the President of Estonia. His most recent books are The Ages of Globalization: Geography, Technology, and Institutions (2020) and Ethics in Action for Sustainable Development (2022).

VFP Awards Presentations
Four of the five awards are for individuals
with the fifth award going to Chapter of the Year.

The Gandhian Non-Violence Award 
The Veterans For Peace Gandhian Non-Violence Award is given to a member who best exemplifies the qualities of compassion and selfless service according to Mohandas K. Gandhi’s philosophy that the highest form of service is rooted in love and non-violence and “the best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in service to others.” Ideal candidates are those members who give themselves unselfishly in service to others in their personal lives, and in their communities. This award may also be given posthumously to Veteran or Associate members who have passed away since the previous convention.

Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award
The Howard Zinn Lifetime Achievement Award is bestowed upon the person who has made significant and ongoing outstanding contributions to the cause of peace over their lifetime. This individual will have also made exceptional efforts to increase public awareness of the costs of war (via activism, teaching, writing, lecturing, the arts, music, film, stage, screen, or radio).

Service and Stewardship Award
The Service and Stewardship award is given to an individual or group who/which has performed exemplary service in support of the well-being of veterans and their families while advancing the culture of peace in their local community, nationally, or internationally.

Leadership in Peace Award
The Leadership in Peace Award is given to the a person or an organization that has displayed initiative, inclusiveness, and tireless perseverance in moving the mission of Veterans For Peace forward locally, nationally, and/or internationally.

Chapter of the Year Award
The VFP Chapter of the Year Award uplifts the work of those chapters that best exemplify the five criteria set forth by the awards committee (media exposure, honors, chapter growth, community service, and activism). Chapters are invited to nominate themselves and self-report their activities to the awards committee on the nominations form.